Dock Work

We are fortunate to have a small cabin on a little lake nestled in the foothills along the Sumter National Forest of South Carolina,  the lake itself is less than 500 acres with 4 fresh mountain streams constantly feeding it from the bordering Forest.

1412-04_001

Its a great place, and yes, South Carolina has a few mountains, very scenic too – man-made Lakes Jocassee and Lakes Keowee are each just a few minutes away – Highlands, NC, and Cashiers, NC are each fewer than 30 miles away.

There are about 168 homes around Lake Cherokee, in SC; mostly seasonal places with about 40 folks living here year-round – its very peaceful, almost too quiet sometimes, especially in the winter – but thats the best time to fish too.

Most of the activity on the lake happens between Memorial Day and Labor Day while most of the activity within each of the homes centers around the kitchens, porches, or dock areas.

The Lake Cherokee Hunting and Fishing Club was created sometime many years back in the 50’s and emphasized wildlife conservation.  Once every three years we lower the water during the winter so that property owners can work on their docks, seawalls, and swimming areas.  This year was one of those years and in anticipation of this I have spent many of my weekdays preparing for some much needed dock-work and maintenance of my own – the rain has delayed things a bit.  With the level to be raised again in January, construction time for rebuilding our dock is getting tight – I am doing all that I can to stay with it.

With this type of schedule working alone kind of helps – its not like I can go out and do everything at once, or even set the large posts until the water level in the soil lowers too – ‘setting the posts’ is relative to the water table, so my work follows the level of the lake – now that will change when its time to put the decking down – c’mon over, but for now its a fairly simple pace.

The poles have been no big deal, dig a 4 to 5′ ft hole and drop them in – measure, level, and tie it all together – a little cement doesn’t hurt.  But I do have a telephone pole to use as a flag-pole or ‘crow’s nest I will need help with, Gray...

Like everything else its easy to find more to do.  The old dock has been a little out of square which has ‘bugged’ me for years, but I plan to fix that, now as I close in on the main portion of the dock I have noticed where it has settled and is sagging a bit.  Now it was my plan to merge smoothly into the old dock, but that may be more complicated than first thought (it all needs to be level!).  The problem could lead to more of a rebuild than anticipated, but hey I’m here – let’s do it..

When I need time to think about it I go lug a few cross-ties for the yard (so I try not to think too much), anyway thats what I’ve been up to – I’ve been busier with things to do since leaving the FD than before – its nice though, my own schedule and no ‘random’ interruptions…….

So a quick post before dropping things for a few days of visiting with family, then back Christmas week .

and here’s a cool thought along with a picture from last year –

Our family, sure hopes that your family has a very warm and special Holiday Season……………….

Done

It is a rustic dock

1309-IMG_8836

Dunwerken

One thought on “Dock Work

  1. Well you are staying very busy. I can’t wait to sit on the new dock. Enjoy your time With Gray. Merry Christmas.

Comments are closed.